Complex shapes and setting their position.

Started by
13 comments, last by Gtadam 3 months, 4 weeks ago

Hi!

I'm rather new to game programming and have developed a simple 2D platform game.
I'm looking into improving it with slopes, which means i have to handle overlap of triangles and other convex shapes.

My question is this in my current implementation all entities have an x and y coordinate. They don't have a shape other than an AABB.
I dont store the vertices other than the top left corner for the rectangles.

In my new implementation all my shapes have a list of vertices, for a triangle i.e. {v1,v2,v3}. I'm a bit confused at the moment.
Should the entities still have an X and Y coordinate? And what is the x and y coordinate of a general shape? Should i take the center point of the mesh or triangle (centroid) as the X and Y? Or should i ignore it and simply manipulate the vertices with a transformation matrix when i set x and y?

I'm not sure i understand the problem either, so sorry if my question is a bit unclear 🙂

Advertisement

Gtadam said:
In my new implementation all my shapes have a list of vertices, for a triangle i.e. {v1,v2,v3}. I'm a bit confused at the moment. Should the entities still have an X and Y coordinate?

I would rephrase the question to ‘Should / can we divide our world into a set of objects?’
Usually the answer is yes, but the larger our models become, the more it shows the answer is actually no.

To show the problem, let's consider two functions we might want per object: Collision detection and level of detail.
And let's say our model is static but complex terrain with caves and cliffs.
Eventually we divide our terrain into many convex cells like Quake did for all it's static geometry making up a level.

The problems we might encounter are: