Unity or Unreal to Teach Programming

Started by
4 comments, last by frob 2 months ago

I'm a professional software dev and am teaching my daughter to code. I've taught her some Javascript and she understands the basic concepts of datatypes, functions, and object oriented programming.

Now she wants to to build a game! I've narrowed the choice of game engine down to either Unity or Unreal since both have big community support and lots of online resources like tutorials. She's a great self-learner so the latter is important.

I'm starting to look at video tutorials online and I'm seeing lots of Unity Visual Scripting and Unreal Blueprints. Both are touted as a great way to build game logic... "without having to write code!" The thing is, that would defeat the purpose of our daddy-daughter code-jam sessions because I'd like to teach her how write code as we build a game together.

Would building a game with one of these two engines be a good way teach programming in C# or C++ (I'm pretty language-agnostic at this point)? I find the heavy use of the visual scripting stuff in online tutorials concerning since I'd like to focus on teaching to build logic in raw code.

Advertisement

Of the two choices, you are probably better with Unity as it uses C# and is more forgiving. Unreal exposes much more so it is powerful but bad for learning, and uses C++ that demands more background knowledge and skill. Like you wrote, blueprint-only projects probably won't teach what you want.

Neither will teach good programming practices, but it will expose the kid to real world systems. Unreal has far more cruft in that regard, lots of macro magic and tools that do work behind your back. Unity has a lot of historical baggage, but it is less obvious to beginners than the macros. It is possible to write well architected code in either, but few tutorials and beginner guides will follow it.