How do you manage yourself and your time as years pass on?

Started by
48 comments, last by taby 1 week, 5 days ago

Would like to ask about your personal experience and possibly if you can suggest a few tips.

I'll describe my situation a bit:

Been programming for quite some time now and relatively recently I've been hit by ageing (i.e. getting older).
Unfortunately, not everyone is equal in terms of health/body response to time passing and/or possible conditions.

So in short, I clearly felt the extra years: gained weight, more fatigue, need to sleep more, working more slowly, etc.
In the beginning it was hard to cope with body reaction, but eventually over the months I stabilized myself.

Overall, although I work slower than before, I take better decisions than, say, when I started coding.
Basically, having less energy than before forced me to rethink my global strategy, had no other choice.
Can't say I'm 100% in the right direction but one has to re-adapt itself to keep things going, survival instinct I guess…

Hope that makes sense to you and maybe you can provide a few coder's daily life tips/time management.

(posting in beginner section as I couldn't think of a better place)

🥳😁

Advertisement

Aybe One said:
Overall, although I work slower than before, I take better decisions than, say, when I started coding.

Yes, that's how we aging people self-confirm we are still useful :D

The increased experience can compensate the loss in performance for quite some time.

But not forever. Our days are counted…

Aybe One said:
maybe you can provide a few coder's daily life tips/time management.

Probably all we can do is keep coding, avoiding longer breaks.

I can relate this to musicians. People who stop playing the instrument daily notice a quick decay of skill at higher age, and at some point conclude they just can't get back to it and give up completely.