Advertisement

about bump mapping

Started by April 17, 2002 04:34 AM
11 comments, last by leggyguy 22 years, 5 months ago
I have searched all over the net, and I am having a problem with bump mapping. Does anyone have a bump mapping tutorial hosted somewhere, or know of a good one? I am really looking for one that doesn''t cover anything else. I am fairly new to opengl, and lesson 22 seems to be just slightly over my head right now. Is lesson 22 as simple as bump mapping comes? In which case I better come back to the subject when I am more advanced, or is there an easier way to accomplish it?
The problem with lesson 22 is that it uses emboss bump mapping. That''s an obsolete technique, more some kind of (hard to understand) ''hack'' that was used when 3D cards weren''t powerful enough to handle ''real'' bumpmapping. It shouldn''t be used anymore.

You should search the web for DOT3 bump mapping. I don''t know of any simple tutorials right now, but perhaps www.nutty.org or www.delphi3d.net has some.

nVidia has a lots of stuff covering that, but it''s rather complex and intended for experienced users. You could still have a look though.

/ Yann
Advertisement
The problem is that older cards don''t support DOT3 bumpmapping in hardware... you should still try to read and understand tutorial 22. Of course DOT3 bumpmapping is easier to use and much faster if available.
And *much* better looking.

Emboss mapping still has it''s uses, as you said, older hardware doesn''t support DOT3. But he was looking for good and easy bumpmapping. So perhaps learn DOT3 first (this will already give you a notion about things like tangent vectors and binormals) and then learn emboss mapping afterwards. I personally think that DOT3 is easier to understand than emboss, but other people might disagree.

/ Yann
and how do you think we can evolve in technique if we always have to support too old to use hardware?