How long is this line?

Started by
10 comments, last by Andos 22 years ago
I'm going to use this when making some strange texture effects and i need a way to find out how long a line is in an object like that one posted under this text:. If i have one of theese: .100.pixels. ....._____.... .../.........\... ../~~~~~\.. <--- ./________\. .200.pixels. How can i find out how long the "~" line is in pixels if i know hot far away the "~" line is away from one of the sides? Maby this don't make any sense but i'm not that good at english... Can you help me? [edited by - Andos on April 18, 2002 11:23:49 AM] [edited by - Andos on April 18, 2002 11:24:09 AM] [edited by - Andos on April 18, 2002 11:24:25 AM]
Advertisement
Find the angle and use trig function to find the position of the intersection between the / and \ lines and the ~~~ line.
Then, find the distance between those two points.

Out of curiosity, what are you doing?

----------------
Blaster
Computer game programmer and part time human being
Strategy First - http://www.strategyfirst.com
BlasterSoft - http://www.blastersoft.com
Can''t this be used?:
LengthLine1-(((LengthLine1 - LengthLine2) / 100 ) * ( ( YofLine / DistanceBetweenLine1&2) * 100 ))

I''m trying to make a wierd software texture rendering...
L = (L2-L1)*t + L1 where t goes from zero (L1) to one (L2).
In your case t = Y/distance(L1,L2)

[Questions (STFW) | GDNet Start Here | GDNet Search | Forum FAQ | Google | Asking Smart Questions ]
[Docs (RTFM) | MSDN | SGI's STL | OpenGL | File formats]
[C++ Must Haves (RTFS) | MinGW | Boost | Loki | FLTK | SDL ]

Stolen from Magmai Kai Holmlor, who held it from Oluseyi, who was inspired by Kylotan...

[edited by - Fruny on April 18, 2002 2:20:25 PM]
"Debugging is twice as hard as writing the code in the first place. Therefore, if you write the code as cleverly as possible, you are, by definition, not smart enough to debug it." — Brian W. Kernighan
You mean:

L: Length of the line I try to find

L1: Line 1