Unity Javascript: Calling var from other script

Started by
3 comments, last by UberAllen17 12 years, 3 months ago
This is probably very simple, but I'm new to Unity and Javascript in Unity.

I'm trying to do an ammo pickup. My game is 2D. I've programmed shooting and loss of ammo, but I need the ability to reload with a new clip. I thought the way to call a variable from another script was simple, like this: scriptNameHere.varNameHere but maybe I misunderstood something in a tutorial somewhere....

The character needs to collide (this already happens) with the ammo box. The weapon must refill that variable by 5 when the collision occurs. The reason I need to call this var from one script to another is because my character and his weapon are two separate objects, otherwise the projectile (which is already set up and functional) hits the character and never really goes anywhere.

I'd appreciate some advice and specific method of calling the var between scripts. I could probably ask a million more questions, but whatever, I'll figure that stuff out as I go.
Additionally, by team (Broken Limits) is looking for a programmer. As you can see, we need one. Learning on the job makes it kind of miserable and slow, but I'll be here to back up a programmer if we can attain one.

Thanks,
-Allen
Advertisement
It's been a while since i used unity, but if i remember correctly all you need to do is have your player be aware of what weapon he is holding by storing it in a variable inside the player object.

Then you will have no problems accessing the ammo values of the weapon. You can also just have the player object hold the ammo information, since spare ammo is usually on the player and not on the gun, and have the weapon retrieve the ammo information from player when reloading the weapon.
I'm kind of doing that.. and having trouble.

The weapon has the variable---- var ammoCount : int = 5;
the weapon, when fired, does this...

Shoot.js

function Update()
{