"Mass pessimism" as a cause for apocalypse!

Started by
5 comments, last by ToddF 11 years, 8 months ago
As we see in the real world, with increasing numbers of conspiracy theories, 2012 doomsday myths and more. What if the reason behind the world's collapse was not the conspiracies, aliens from outer space or the planet Nibiru crashing into us - but rather our fear of these things happening. I.e. that these fears shackle us to our individual stati quo and prevents us from rising above our base surival instincts?

What are your thoughts about Matrix-like esoterics? Is it suitable for game development or can it risk passing the players by, if not handed to them? I mean, I've discussed the Matrix movies with some people who needed to see the third movie to understand that Neo was actually never in the "real world", even though it's hinted in both the first (barely) and especially the second movie (blatantly).

- Awl you're base are belong me! -

- I don't know, I'm just a noob -

Advertisement
Hmm, could make sense. If you continue the current trend of people living with personalised filtered news and entertainment, I can imagine the sense of community dissolving. Particularly if reporting of scandals skyrocketed, voting dropped, public services declined. Things becoming more tribal. Not likely, but possible.