I must be doing something wrong (slow development)

Started by
29 comments, last by slayemin 11 years, 10 months ago
Essentially, I'm curious what methods people use (whether they be tools, processes, etc.) for speeding up development when working on a game.

I am currently working on a game, which I have been working on in my spare time for the past 2 years. Granted, I have learned a lot in those 2 years, but I don't feel that the game "looks" 2 years old, if that makes sense. It still has very much of a "tech demo" feel to it, with large portions of both the gameplay and underlying framework unfinished.

But beyond that, I feel like I am just really slow at making progress. As an example (and not the target of this post), I recently got a portion of the game working, allowing the player to instruct units to construct particular types of buildings (this is sort of an RTS game). I had been working on implementing this portion of the game for the better part of a month (in my spare time), working out the interactions between the UI and the game state.

Now that it was playable, we were able to see some of the issues with the way it was designed, and made changes to the design, requiring me to go back and make some significant changes to the code I had already written. I've been at it for a week now, and feel that I am little more than half done with the changes. And this is just for this one piece of the game.

By comparison, I see people on these forums throwing together prototypes on a matter of days (I don't even understand how you can prototype a game, with all of the underlying framework that is required). People participate in the Ludum Dare competition, creating full games in under 48 hours. And full released games on Steam, like Terraria, which were developed in only 6 months.