Good community / team / chat or anything really for newbies to collaborate on projects together?

Started by
18 comments, last by game of thought 11 years, 5 months ago
I am a self-taught coder. I feel what I need now is it to work with others on shared projects.I would prefer to communicate with other programmers/developers via vent, skype, or irc and get team experience.

Where would be some good places to start looking around? I am looking to volunteer for free.
Advertisement
The classified section under "Hobbyist Projects"
Hi, im in the same situation than you, if you want you can write me and talk about projects and start some sort of newbie team.

Seephirot.93@gmail.com
Sent you an e-mail Seephirot. :D Thanks for the responses so far.
I have also been looking for some hobbyist project. I'm quite new to game programming, but would like to contribute if the project is interesting. I'm currently working mostly with XNA. Feel free to contact me..
cloakedabbot@gmail.com if anyone wants to e-mail me to either join team or start one.
Hello,

if you're setting up a team, I can recommend you some software, that I've used for my personal and small projects.

VisualSVN Server - an easy to setup version control system for Windows. I'm using TortoiseSVN as client.
Trac - a collaboration, project management and wiki. There is a Version available that works with the Webserver that is installed by VisualSVN.

Good luck to all of you!
Yme,

I have done a few group projects and for your version control I would strongly suggest GitHub. My teams have used CVS , SVN , and some less popular options and when we were finnally turned on to GitHub it became some much easier and had a lot less setup and management overhead just to get to the point of being able to version your code.