My ever-evolving coding style

Started by
13 comments, last by DekuTree64 10 years, 10 months ago
I am a self taught hobbyist programmer. Today, my subconcious decided to be helpful and torture me with randomly fetched memories of my old coding style. Here's a sample of my coding style from when I was still in the C-with-classes phase, circa 2006:

class CFoobar
{
private:
	// Public member variables are bad, mmkay?
	int m_iFoo;
	RGB m_rgbBar;
	double m_dBaz;

public:
	// Encapsulation is good, mmkay?
	// I'm so clever, using a pointer to avoid both a get AND a set for each member variable!
        int *GetFoo() { return &m_iFoo; }
	RGB *GetBar() { return &m_rgbBar; }
	// (Repeat for every member of CFoobar)
};

void frobnicate()
{
	CFoobar *foo = new CFoobar();

// Wow! This is much easer than writing foo->setFoo(foo->getFoo()+7);
	*foo->GetFoo() = *foo->GetFoo()+7;

double thing = *foo->GetBaz();
	// etc...

delete foo;
}
Yup. Complete with the Microsoft bastardization of the Hungarian notation and the ever-so-important C-prefix on the class names so you always when you're using a class and when you're using a struct.

Guuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu.
Advertisement

void frobnicate()
{
    CFoobar *foo = new CFoobar();

//Fixed
    int* var = foo->GetFoo();
    *var += 7;

double thing = *foo->GetBaz();
    // etc...

delete foo;
}

Honestly I like returning pointers for most cases. Using the pointer you dont have to make a thousand function calls. Especially in parallel programming this is very useful when you want to avoid static variables. Sometimes its not a good idea, or not even possible depending on the use, but I believe this is a perfectly valid programming habit. IMO