MonoGame & C++

Started by
2 comments, last by Haps 10 years, 10 months ago

Hey everyone! Before you continue, no, this isn't a post about getting MonoGame to work with C++!

Now that everyone didn't run away, I have a question that i've been debating for a few days now. I've been programming for 4-5 years now, and the entire time I have had game programming in my sights. Only recently I have been able to start development on a full game, not a sample game you make from a book where the game runs through and ends. I mean a full game, like one you would buy. I've been working on it for a couple weeks using XNA 4.0, even though I have been aware that XNA is basically dead in Microsofts eyes. I was using this as a learning experience, and I did learn a lot.

Now here comes the question. I have two options here to continue, because I feel like as though I know i'm learning, continuing with XNA is counter productive if I were to want to deploy and sell my games (key word, IF. I know not everyone is going to be able to, or want to deploy their games to sell). I could port my game over to MonoGame, which I looked through and scoured the internet for info on. The problem here, is that since it's still in development, there is no content pipeline that you get with XNA, which was a huge part of it. I know MonoGame is basically the go-to thing for XNA devs as well.

My other option is to switch to C++. I did what every hobby dev does, and started my tenure of programming trying to learn C++, so I do have SOME experience. (Some = getting a sprite to move with DirectX after I learned the language itself of course). Another thing to keep in mind is that I do all of this by myself, and do not work in a team.