Where do I start making a game (A Clone of The Sims)

Started by
4 comments, last by Christoher Randin 10 years, 10 months ago

I Know a little bit of programming I could also look up tutorials. Where do I start in Unity for a game like The Sims ?

Advertisement
By starting much much smaller.

Yet again serapth is correct.

I suggest you read up on C# and make some cool projects with it (such as a text-based game).

Then, read the Unity documentation. I used to think documentation was boring, also, however it is really interesting.

Finally, start making simple games. Try out Pong, then Breakout!, then Space Invaders, then try some more advanced games like an (2d) RPG and the like. You unfortunately can't make a clone of the Sims by yourself, probably, however I bet you could make a simpler version with your own twist.

Cheers :)!

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

First break your game down into the smallest componant for the sims game and work from there.

The most important element of a sims game is the behaviors such as wants and needs (food, sleep, cleanliness etc..), Buld a simple simulation of this logged out to the console (like a tamogotchi). This should be fairly easy.

Then make a graphical version.

Then add an envionment and make your "sim" wander around. To start off just make this random.