Unit Testing ftw?

Started by
35 comments, last by Ronnie Mado Solbakken 10 years, 6 months ago

Hey peeps, I thought I'd ask your opinions about this video, where the presenter talks about deeper testing methodology and specifically about unit testing. I think this is fundamentally going to improve my programming routines, and maybe it will help you as well, even if you're a semi-seasoned programmer:

Feel free to give some feedback and perhaps critique. It'd be nice to see some different perspectives on unit testing versus overall systems testing.

- Awl you're base are belong me! -

- I don't know, I'm just a noob -

Advertisement

It is a cost/benefit analysis.

It is well documented that the initial cost to write automated unit tests is almost equal to the cost of writing the software when the two are written at the same time. The cost is potentially much higher if the tests are added after initial development. Drawn as a graph, the development costs look like a right-skewed distribution with a very long tail. The benefit comes in the long tail of support; during maintenance all the prior issues are immediately regressed. Often the break-even point is not reached until several years of maintenance.

For libraries that will be used extensively by many products, or shared between studios, or released publicly, or used for many years, then yes, unit tests generally make sense. The cost to manually test and verify after every change is often greater than the cost to create the automated tests.

However, for most game code that is written once and then discarded, unit tests generally do not make sense. The cost to hire an room full of QA testers to verify everything at the end of the project is often less than the cost to create the automated tests.