Getting work as a sound designer (still student here)

Started by
14 comments, last by Valoon 10 years, 3 months ago

Hello,

So as it says in the title I'm a student and I try to break into the video games industry as a sound designer. Right now I'm just looking for an internship tho but even this is hard.

I actually live in France and I have absolutely no contact except one guy who works at Ubisoft and even then I don't really know him, just exchanged a few mails as he's an old student of my college so he has my future degree. Obviously GDC and all of the big conventions are out of the picture for me because I have no money and I can't afford to go to LA for this even if I would love to.

I do have my parent support tho, so I can definitely go worldwide for an internship.

My audio skills are actually pretty varied since I do sound design myself with a professor from the GRM outside of my classes but my degree is about programming audio with stuff like Max, Csound, etc… and also audio engineering, also the past years have been mostly about regular music so I have music knowledge.

I also have programming classes and I read on my own and so I know a bit of C/C++ and quite a bit of C#.

I'm getting hired in most of the free student project I'm applying for and I'm programming my own little game with Unity.

For my demo, I know I can't advertise myself here but you can see them in the audio forum and I got multiple good reviews from a few pros and some other people like on this forum.