Finding a 2D game engine that does not require programming in their environment

Started by
11 comments, last by kop0113 10 years ago

I'm a somewhat experienced programmer (Junior CS major in college) and when I was younger I used to be EXTREMELY into game development. However, my engine of choice was GameMaker, and as we all know that's a bit limited. After becoming a better programmer, I decided I wanted to come back and make some simple 2D games using a real language. However, I haven't been able to find a good 2D engine that lets me develop in my own environment; almost all of them require me to use their own special scripting language or require me programming most of the engine myself. What I would like in a engine is:

1. Programming is done in my own environment (emacs, vim) in an established language (like C++ or Python)
  2. I can quickly program objects (engine handles things like collision, creation and destruction of objects and scenes, etc)
  3. I can quickly place objects and design levels (I would really like to be able to use tiled to design my levels)
  4. It handles input and is easy to integrate in objects
  5. Built-in collision detection

Bonus points for:

1. Physics
  2. Android/iOS/HTML5 support

The closest I have found to something I would like is melonjs, however I really don't like programming in javascript and it doesn't compile to native code (not that I would expect it to).

In an ideal world, I would like to make a simple pong game with something like this:

import engine
import sprites
import scenes

class PlayerPaddle(engine.GameObject):
    sprite = sprites.PaddleSprite
    game = 0;

def __init__(self, game):
        self.game = game
        game.add_object(self, 'PlayerPaddle') # could be handled by parent
        self.x = 0
        self.y = 0
        super(PlayerPaddle, self)

def update(self):
        if (self.game.input.keyboard.up):
            self.y -= 2

if (self.game.input.keyboard.down):
            self.y += 2