Honours Programming Project

Started by
2 comments, last by LorenzoGatti 9 years, 7 months ago

I am a student studying Computer Games Technology, which aims to teach C++ with comp sci topics and apply them to developing game engines.

I am entering my fourth and final year and have to pick a topic for my honours project, which is a year long project that requires a project to implement and a dissertation report to accompany it.

I would like to see if I can gain advice from others on the ideas I have came up with:

• Vehicle Physics Engine - modelling features of land vehicles such as acceleration, torque, braking, suspension, weight etc and allowing it to be configured depending on the type of vehicle
  • Networking - creating a networked game and artificially connecting a large number of clients to study how the traffic should be managed. (I like MMORPGs and am interested to see how thousands of players are managed)
  • Cross-platform framework - Creating a framework and game to go along with it to allow me to create cross-platform games without the need for popular middleware. I would create this using C++ and OpenGL.
  • Big Data - I know this is a buzz area in computing just now, I wonder if anyone knows if it is used in the games industry at all?I had a suggestion from a lecturer to undertake a study on a popular game engine to see what benefits are gained from using it, what features it might be lacking and building on top of it. This interests me as I can get access to the source code for UE4 and as I am comfortable with C++, it would be a challenge to try to add a plugin and submit a pull request to Epic's repo.