School project interview

Started by
1 comment, last by SeanMiddleditch 9 years, 4 months ago

Hello everybody,

I am a sophomore in high school who is very interested in becoming a video game developer (mainly a level and environment designer). My English class assigned a research paper about careers that we are interested in. So I'm doing my paper on video game development. The assignment requires me to do an interview with someone who knows about my topic. I've decided to try and interview people through the internet because I believe it's a great way to talk to a variety of people who know about game development.

Here are my questions.

• How is working for a big video game company (EA, Valve) different than working for a small indie game company (or running one by yourself)?
  • Overall is the video game industry a good industry to be a part of?
  • I am very interested in having a career in video game development. What would I have to do and know to become a video game developer? Where do I start?
  • How is your experience in the game development field? Do you recommend people who want to become game developers to follow their dreams?
  • Pros and Cons of being a Video Game developer? How does it pay?
  • Is it fun?
  • What are the different positions in the development process (ex. Artist, level designer, coder) Is it hard doing all of these jobs if you are an independent developer?
  • Describe your feelings when you released or finished your first game.
  • Any schools or online courses you think would fit an aspiring developer?

Thank you for your time!

Advertisement

• 1- How is working for a big video game company (EA, Valve) different than working for a small indie game company (or running one by yourself)?
  • 2- Overall is the video game industry a good industry to be a part of?
  • 3- I am very interested in having a career in video game development. What would I have to do and know to become a video game developer? Where do I start?