As a wannabe game designer who wants to focus on the creative side of making games, where should I begin?

Started by
4 comments, last by DigitalNomad 7 years, 5 months ago

Background: I am an artist, love telling stories, and want to focus on game design over anything else, but I feel like I need some bit of credibility to get to that point--that I need to be a real stand-out with experience in order to net a position, paid or unpaid.

I've decided that I should get my hands dirty and start working.

To learn programming to a degree that I can make games (even 2-d ones like I'm interested in) is a herculean task. I'm overwhelmed, so here I am.

Here's a few of the questions I have...

What is the programming language should I use? Is Gamemaker enough? (I hear that Undertale was created in it)

Is making a visual novel a waste of time? Will it give me programming experience? I'm interested because it seems like something I can finish.

What resources will give the most educational value for the time I put into them? (books, free online courses, youtube tutorials, etc.). This is mainly what I will base/schedule my education around. Of course I want to see eye-opening videos or books about game development, even if they're not all that technical.

I have a ton of ideas in my head for compositions. Should I learn how to make music?

I hope you guys can give me some input on this.

Thank you!

Advertisement

Gamemaker is enough however if you to want learn how to program to make 2d game I would start with learning c#.

Step 1. Research all you need to know and download to get started

Step 2. Try out a tutorial to learn how the system works

Step 3. Download a sample game and study the code and methods

Step 4. Come here and follow the most recommended guidelines for data structures and logic tactics

Step 5. Brain storm you game

Step 6. Design your game

Step 7. Draw out the blueprints (Small comics, diagrams, ect of what your game is about and how to play it)