Grass

Started by
18 comments, last by soconne 19 years, 9 months ago
Hi,
what is a color keyed texture? Sorry I'm new to this whole OpenGL thingy. :)
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by DerAndiY
Hi,
what is a color keyed texture? Sorry I'm new to this whole OpenGL thingy. :)

a Texture with an alpha channel set to 1 everywere except where your KEYCOLOR is present, there it is 0. so that one color is transparent, while everything else is Fully opaque

(Bright Purple is a common used color for this, sence you hardly ever would see such a color in a texture)

AlphaTesting is commonly used with Color Keyed Textures, senced there is no need to have partially blended colors.
"I seek knowledge and to help those who also seek it"
A method that works very well when you're relatively above the grass looking down is simply to have a series of quads with a masked texture of dots layered on top of eachother to give the illusion that you have complete lines. It's also pretty easy to get some motion. The main problems are that it's impossible to move blades of grass individually (only in "chunks") and that it's hard to get curved blades, along with the fact that if your perspective gets too sharp, you'll end up seeing between the quads and your grass will look flickery or simply as separate floating dots ;).
-~-The Cow of Darkness-~-
Thanks for the explanation... I know what you mean. I'm just not familiar with the terminology.
Cheers
Andy
Quote:
...that if your perspective gets too sharp, you'll end up seeing between the quads and your grass will look flickery or simply as separate floating dots

true, you've described the 'shells' part of the 'fins and shells' algorithm, but the 'fins' part solves that problem you mentioned :)
do unto others... and then run like hell.
Quote:Original post by cowsarenotevil