Simplex method with artificial variables

Started by
6 comments, last by Seifer 19 years, 8 months ago
Hey folks. I've been looking for a fast way to detect collisions between rectangular prisms, so now I'm trying the simplex method. Probably not the fastest, but my idea is to use the method's phase 1 to just determine if a solution is possible. I'm having a little trouble as I'm new to this. So here go my equations: (k1) a + (k2) b + (k3) c + (k4) d + (k5) e + (k6) f = k7 (k8) a + (k9) b + (k10) c + (k11) d + (k12) e + (k13) f = k14 (k15) a + (k16) b + (k17) c + (k18) d + (k19) e + (k20) f = k21 0<=a,b,c,d,e,f <=1 where k1...k21 are just constants. Now as I understand it, I have to use 6 equations with slack variables like this: a + x1 = 1 b + x2 = 1 c + x3 = 1 d + x4 = 1 e + x5 = 1 f + x6 = 1 And change the equalities by adding artificial variables(I didn't put all the K's for brevity): a + b + c + d + e + f + y1 = k7 a + b + c + d + e + f + y2 = k14 a + b + c + d + e + f + y3 = k21 So far I think I've done it right. I read that I now have to use the simplex to minimize y1 + y2 + y3, and if their sum is different from zero after all the iterations, no solution is possible. The problem is, how do I build my simplex table? In the documentation I have, the artificial variables are equal to the number of equations so they form an identity matrix, but this isn't the case here. Thanks for reading.
I hate signatures.
Advertisement
*bump*
I hate signatures.
I'm wondering if we're talking about the same simplex.

The simplex is a problem of maximization.
When you have an equation you have to maximize under certain constraints, you can use the simplex algorithm.
For finding the minimum of f(X), you can use the trick of searching for the maximum of -f(X), otherwise it won't work.
So I don't see what you're doing in your post, i don't recognize even the canonical forms of the constraints wich are absolutely necessary.

If you can be clearer maybe I can help.