GAH! WTF?

Started by
25 comments, last by d000hg 19 years, 8 months ago
Are there any decent, totally free source control apps? Particularly ones which integrste with MSVC and include a difference tool?
Advertisement
I've been using Vault from sourcegear lately. A single user instance is free, and it uses MSSQL Server as the backend (you can use MSDE if you want).

It has atomic commits, and is available over the internet if that sort of thing takes your fancy. I use it in a professional sense (I am an IT Consultant, and this allows me to access my repository from client sites) and have nothing but praise for it (at time of writing....).

P.S. Excuse any spelling mistakes. The footy is on, i've had a few beers, and I've got a new keyboard and it's hard to get used to!
Quote:Original post by d000hg
Are there any decent, totally free source control apps? Particularly ones which integrste with MSVC and include a difference tool?

Perforce is by far the best sourcecontrol i've ever tried.
And it's free for 2 users.
Quote:Original post by bgreen
I've been using Vault from sourcegear lately. A single user instance is free, and it uses MSSQL Server as the backend (you can use MSDE if you want).

It has atomic commits, and is available over the internet if that sort of thing takes your fancy. I use it in a professional sense (I am an IT Consultant, and this allows me to access my repository from client sites) and have nothing but praise for it (at time of writing....).

P.S. Excuse any spelling mistakes. The footy is on, i've had a few beers, and I've got a new keyboard and it's hard to get used to!

I hear Arild's AnkhSVN is good, but as my project uses neither MSVC++ nor subversion I haven't used it.
Quote:Original post by etothex
Quote:Original post by bgreen

I hear Arild's AnkhSVN is good, but as my project uses neither MSVC++ nor subversion I haven't used it.