Problems with Visualc++

Started by
4 comments, last by steg 19 years, 9 months ago
I'm new in DirectX technologies and I'm studing the book INTRODUCTION TO 3D GAME PROGRAMMING WITH DIRECTX 9.0 by Frank D.Luna. Ok my doubt is about the initialization of DirectX. I placed the code d3Utiliy.h (above):

#include <d3dx9.h>
namespace d3d
{
    bool InitD3D(
	HINSTANCE hInstance,
	int width, int height,
	bool windowed,
	D3DDEVTYPE deviceType,
	IDirect3DDevice9** device);

int EnterMsgLoop(
	bool (*ptr_display)(float timeDelta));

LRESULT CALLBACK WndProc(
		HWND hwnd,
		UINT msg,
		WPARAM wParam,
		LPARAM lParam);

template<class T> void Release(T t)
    {
	if (t) {
	    t->Release();
	    t = 0;
	}
    }

template<class T> void Delete(T t)
    {
	if (t) {
	    delete t;
	    t = 0;
	}
    }
}

int d3d::EnterMsgLoop(bool (*ptr_display)(float timeDelta))
{
    MSG msg;
    ::ZeroMemory(&msg, sizeof(MSG));
    static float lastTime = (float)timeGetTime();

while(msg.message != WM_QUIT) {
	if (::PeekMessage(&msg, 0, 0, 0, PM_REMOVE)) {
	    ::TranslateMessage(&msg);
	    ::DispatchMessage(&msg);
	}
	else {
	    float currTime = (float)timeGetTime();
	    float timeDelta = (currTime = lastTime) * 0.001f;
	    ptr_display(timeDelta); // call display function
	    lastTime = currTime;
	}
    }
    return msg.wParam;
}

and the d3dUtility.cpp (above)

#include "d3dUtility.h"

IDirect3DDevice9* Device = 0;

bool Setup()
{
    return true;
}

void Cleanup()
{
}

bool Display(float timeDelta)
{
    if (Device) {
	Device->Clear(0, 0, D3DCLEAR_TARGET | D3DCLEAR_ZBUFFER,
			  0x00000000, 1.0f, 0);
	Device->Present(0, 0, 0, 0);// present backbuffer
    }
    return true;
}

HRESULT IDirect3DDevice9::Clear(
	DWORD Count,
	const D3DRECT* pRects,
	DWORD Flags,
	D3DCOLOR Color,
	float Z,
	DWORD Stencil
);

LRESULT CALLBACK d3d::WndProc(HWND hwnd, UINT msg, WPARAM wParam, LPARAM lParam)
{
    switch (msg) {
    case WM_DESTROY:
	::PostQuitMessage(0);
	break;
    case WM_KEYDOWN: