[.net] What do I need to use C#?

Started by
8 comments, last by Mike29936 19 years, 8 months ago
Here's the story. I had a pirated version of Windows XP, Microsoft Office, and Visual Studio.NET. Well, being a software developer myself, I have sworn off piracy. I paid for a copy of Windows XP Pro and have looked for freeware alternatives to the rest. Well, instead of getting the .NET programming package from Microsoft (the free version), I just downloaded Dev C++ because I wanted to get started programming again (after a 3 month long hiatus, stupid girl) and thought C++ is what I should be refreshing myself. Well, C++ is all well and good, but it isn't my cup of tea. I can handle it, or maybe I can't, that doesn't matter... I'm interested in using C# like I was before. Summary and whatnot: I have the .NET 1.1 framework installed and nothing else regarding .NET. What do I have to download to get all the .NET programming things I need? I know there is plenty of free Microsoft stuff (the compiler, obviously, but something about an express edition of VS?), but I don't know what to get. I don't want something that the license is going to run out in 3 months or something. Please help, thanks.
Dat is off da hizzle fo shizzle dizzle
Advertisement
Look up SharpDevelop. It's a free C# IDE that can use the .NET Framework or Mono.
Steve 'Sly' Williams  Monkey Wrangler  Krome Studios
turbo game development with Borland compilers
Congrats on kicking that awful habit of piracy!

There are a few directions you could go here. One is to get SharpDevelop, a free IDE for C#/VB.NET, along with the .NET Framework SDK, which contains all the command line tools you need to write C# programs.