City Design

Started by
4 comments, last by Sage13 19 years, 7 months ago
Just a few new works I did while developing a city for the manga/game project I'm working on. I'm still pretty new to perspective so I'm trying to figure out how to do things like curved walls and objects or platforms on mulltiple levels (elipses in perspective are OMG UGG!). But, practice makes perfect I guess heh. Let me know what you think. Feedback is much needed here :) The first one is the top down map, it's kinda large so I'll just link it: Caliger City A long birds eye view: and a shot of the set where the first eps/scene takes place (still working): thanks! -~-
Advertisement
I would say they both look great, I like the symbolism of putting a city between two huge moutains. One thing though, (IMHO) in the top picture, the background doesn't really fade well. It kinda looks like it's the end of the world which makes the whole scene seem alot less epic. Other then that it really looks good.
Wow, that's some really good work you've got there !

If you have trouble with perspective, I would suggest you start with maybe one building and work on looking at it from various perspectives.
You could start with a street level view, with 2 vanishing point (standing at a crossroad, looking at a corner of a building).
Then shift the angle of vision by adding a third vanishing point, up or down depending on whether you are doing a ground angle shot or a high angle shot (bird's eye view)

Obviously this is hard to explain without little drawings, so you might wanna do a look up, but honestly if you start small it's pretty simple stuff.

The trick for drawing ellipses is to first draw the rectangles that can enclose them.
And always start with the horizon, key vanishing points and tracing known right angles. If you can draw cubes in 3D, you have your basics from which to start messing around :)

Here is an old example I made for a similar discussion on conceptart.org