help with code

Started by
4 comments, last by Zahlman 19 years, 5 months ago
can someone help me figure out the problem with my "magic 8-ball program?" I have recently begunl earning c++ on gametutorials.com,and i am new to this code: #include <iostream> #include <string.h> int main() int i=1; int s=0; char aaa[50]={0} while (i=1) { input() } }return void; int input() { std::cout << " Enter your yes/no question "; std::cin >> aaa ; srand ( GetTickCount ( ) ); s=rand() % 3; switch(s) { case 1: cout << "yes"; break; case 2: cout << "no"; break; case 3: cout << "maybe"; break; } thanks for helping a newb you have my gratitude
Advertisement
Change the while (i=1) to while (i == 1)
and return void; to return 0;

Not too sure about the rest since it's C++. I only know C:D
#include <iostream>#include <string.h>#include <time.h>		// included for time() function, see belowint input();	// must tell compiler that a function called input() exists.				// alternatively, move the input-function here.int main(){			// missed initial bracket	int i=1;	srand ( time ( NULL ) );	// Replaced GetTickCount() with a call to time(NULL)								// as the header for GetTickCount was not included								// moved srand-call out of the while-loop								// you only need to seed the random generator once								// per run	while (i==1) // as mentioned, == compares. a single = assigns	{		input();	// missed ;	}	return 0;	// as mentioned}int input() {	char aaa[50]={0};	// missed ;	int s=0;			// moved declaration of aaa and s here, as the variables 						// are used in this function	std::cout << " Enter your yes/no question";	std::cin >> aaa;	s=rand() % 3;	switch(s) 	{ 	case 1: 		std::cout << "yes"; // forgot to declare namespace		break;	case 2: 		std::cout << "no"; 		break; 	case 3: 		std::cout << "maybe";		break;	}	return 0;		// as input was declared to return an int,					// we must return and int.}