linear filtering problem

Started by
7 comments, last by XerXis 19 years, 3 months ago
Hi, i have another question, i have a terrain with a road but the road is blurred to much in the distance or in certain places. see image below: (it's my first 3d project, i know it still needs a lot of work :( ) I tried using anisotropic filtering but that was a disaster for my framerate. Is there something else i can do? Should i make my texture bigger, i'm not an artist, so the quality of the textures i use is not very good (mostly things i find for free on the net) Thanks in advance
Advertisement
Hi,

It seems to be a mip mapping problem, you could disable it for the road, but then you'll get all kind of aliasing in the distance. Have you tried playing with the D3DSAMP_MIPMAPLODBIAS sampler state when rendering the road? It will give you better control over mip map selection. I've never really used it so I don't know the performance impact or what value to set it to (I know it's a float, try using +/- 1.0f to see how it goes).
thanks for your reply, but changing the lodbias didn't do the trick :(

This is what i now have

// road tex_device->SetTexture(     RoadTexDesc.RegisterIndex, _road);_device->SetSamplerState(RoadTexDesc.RegisterIndex, D3DSAMP_MAGFILTER, D3DTEXF_LINEAR);_device->SetSamplerState(RoadTexDesc.RegisterIndex, D3DSAMP_MINFILTER, D3DTEXF_LINEAR);_device->SetSamplerState(RoadTexDesc.RegisterIndex, D3DSAMP_MIPFILTER, D3DTEXF_LINEAR);

should i change anything about these values?

Those states are correct.

Hmmm.. You can try to sharpen the low resolution mip map levels if you generate them by yourself, but I'm not sure how much of a difference it will make, if any..

Or there could be a way to change or split the road texture so that you'll minimize the mip mapping artefacts. Can you post the texture?
this is it. maybe it's because it's rectangular?

Quote:Original post by XerXis