Skydome Issues

Started by
8 comments, last by zedzeek 19 years, 1 month ago
I'm a developer for Crown and Cutlass (screenshots), which is a 3d game in the spirit of the old Pirates! (and the new Pirates!, I suppose) game.It started as a way for me to learn some graphics, but now we have a sourceforge project and are making some good progress. It's good times. Anyway, my latest big addition is a sky dome in the naval battles. I draw a nice dome and keep it centered around the player, and have it changing color throughout the day, so for a first attempt at a sky I'm pretty pleased with it. Before I try to describe my problem, here's a screenshot of it: As you can see in the screenshot, when the viewing angle is low like that you can see that the bottom of the ocean ends. As a result, the horizon looks really bad. What can I do to improve that? Here's what I've come up with so far: 1. Just extend the bottom of the ocean farther. Problem is that as the viewpoint drops lower and lower, I'd have to keep making it go farther. This is probably the worst of my solutions. 2. Have the bottom of the ocean rise up and meet the edge of the water plane. That way all around the edge, the water and the bottom would meet up and eliminate that gap. Seems like a decent idea... 3. Set the clear color to something kind of like a mist or fog, and have the water and land (and sky dome I suppose) get more transparent as it gets farther from the player's ship. I don't want to use the opengl fog. I've tried and I'm not happy with the results that I get with it. Anyway, then I could have everything fade into the distance. This is probably the most complicated of my ideas (unless I combine 2 & 3), and I would probably have to change the background color depending on where you look and where the sun is. What do you think? Any advice?
Advertisement
what about just lowering the skydome or extending it down further.
Yeah, I tried that earlier tonight. It looks like this: