Is LOD() any good?

Started by
4 comments, last by dogzer 19 years, 1 month ago
Hi, i'm learning the very basics of C++. I am asking something very advanced even though i'm still learning things with the console, this is out of curiosity. I believe there is a function called something like "LOD()" wich lowers the detail of a 3d object, so you can speed up the fps of a game. Is it good? or is it recommendable that i model the lower detail models myself and have a set of HIGH/MEDIUM/LOW for each model?
Advertisement
To my reckoning it isnt simply one function call but more a phrase used for what u are describing. Depending on an objects distance from the camera, its detail level can be alter on-the-fly. This is done by simply reducing the amount of polygons that make up the model (or whatever). Since obviously at longer distance a model doesn't need to consist of so many polys, it will look the same with a lower level of detail. This also means that u can fit more into a scene.

I'm sure someone can go further than i have with this?

ace
I believe you might be thinking of SetLOD(), a DirectX function which sets the level of detail for textures. LOD is much debated and there are many ways of performing polygon cuts. Here are some ideas to help you on your way.

1) Model switching.
This involves manually checking for distance from camera and changing the model to another (pre-made) model with less or more polygons depending on the difference. The downside with this is the often noticeable 'popping' of objects when the switch is made. With careful use of shading and normals, however, this can be much more manageable.

2) Algorythmic LOD.
Much harder to implement and there are many ways to perform the algorythm. This involves rebuilding the model within your code to give dynamic LOD. It takes more processing and a good knowledge of modelling, but the effects speak for themselves.