Python tic tac toe

Started by
6 comments, last by Zahlman 18 years, 11 months ago
hey, I am new to programming, and i want to know how to make a game (using python). I decided to do tic tac toe. After reading tutorials on how to get started and all, i started to make the game. Heres how it looks so far.
#Tic tac toe
def printgame(g):
    print " %s | %s | %s     1 | 2 | 3" % (g[1], g[2], g[3])
    print "-----------   -----------"
    print " %s | %s | %s     4 | 5 | 6" % (g[4], g[5], g[6])
    print "-----------   -----------"
    print " %s | %s | %s     7 | 8 | 9" % (g[7], g[8], g[9])
    print

def gethumansmove(g):
    empty = g[0]
    while 1:
        s = raw_input("which square (1..9): ")
        try:
            square = int(s)
        except:
            square = 0

if square > 0 and square <= 9:
            if g[square] == empty:
                g[square] = "X"

break
            else:
                print "that square is taken"
        else:
            print "please enter a number between 1 and 9"
print "Hello, X is first!"
turn = 1
while 1:
    empty = " "
    game = 10 * [empty]
    while turn <= 9:
        printgame(game)
        gethumansmove(game)
        turn = turn + 1

I had much help from sources, but now im stuck. My goal is to make a human vs. human. Also, may i ask if anyone knows how to "clear" the board. My brother tells me clearing the board is what i should do. However, he does C++ and doesnt know what commands are for python for that. can someone help me?
Advertisement
listen
i do C++ as well, but what you probably need to do is keep printing new lines with nothing on them so the old text moves up and disappears
then, after user input, you redraw(or rewrite) the board
hope this helps, but hey, i'm a noob too
the fuction to clear the screen in C++ is
system( "cls" );
As my bro tells me, and basically, i need to know how to that same function in Python.
Quote:Original post by lib
the fuction to clear the screen in C++ is
system( "cls" );