People, people! Stop making large worlds!

Started by
65 comments, last by Wysardry 18 years, 11 months ago
I recently discussed world size with a friend of mine in regards to a Sci-Fi RPG I'm planning (note NOT MMOrpg [smile]), and other games. His opinion was that the world should be "real" size and "real" time. IE 1 day in the RPG should be 24 hours of playing time, and to walk 8km should take about 1 hour (realistic walking speed). Of course the game would need things like cars and planes or other transportation means, and ability to travel to places such as clicking on the map. In that case travel would be instantaneous for the player but the time in the game world would run normally (for example 1 hour for the 8km walk).

As a developer I see several problems with his idea. The most obvious is that you'd have to have detailed landscape for the entire area. Morrowind is huge, but it doesn't take all that long to walk across it. I've never tried, but I suspect it would take a few hours. Daggerfall is more like it.. It takes a few hours just to walk to the nearest city (not sure.. I gave up), and probably well over a week to walk across the world. Real world time. But the world in Daggerfall is extremely low detail. Just rolling hills and a few trees. No roads or rivers or anything to make it realistic. The world in Morrowind isn't very realistic either, but it's much better than the one in DF, but even at that detail level it would need an extreme amount of storage to store the world, not to mention the time for the artists to create it.