DInput Multiple Joysticks

Started by
3 comments, last by THACO 18 years, 10 months ago
Ok Im just learning DInput and I have had success with the keyboard. The problem for me is multiple joysticks / callback functions in general. I pretty much just used the code from the directX joystick tutorial. I modified the tutorial a little to have it get multiple joysticks, but it only chooses one of those to EnumObjects (get and set axis??). My problem when I try to bring code from the tutorial into my own project is moving the callback functions into a class. I get this error error C2664: 'IDirectInput8A::EnumDevices' : cannot convert parameter 2 from 'BOOL (const DIDEVICEINSTANCE *,void *)' to 'LPDIENUMDEVICESCALLBACKA' None of the functions with this name in scope match the target type I did some searching found some info about if a callback function is in a class it has to be static. I changed them to static but got more errors error C2227: left of '->CreateDevice' must point to class/struct/union type is '' below is the line inquestion from the error above hr = g_pDI->CreateDevice(pdidInstance->guidInstance, &g_pGamepads[numPads], NULL ); error C2597: illegal reference to non-static member 'CInput::numPads' error C2597: illegal reference to non-static member 'CInput::g_pGamepads' error C2597: illegal reference to non-static member 'CInput::numPads' this error also references the line of code abouve hr = g_pDI.... error C2568: '[' : unable to resolve function overload unable to recover from previous error(s); stopping compilation So mainly im stuck, are there any suggestions, other tutorials to look at. Thanks THAC0
Advertisement
I'm still early in my DirectX adventures, but from looking at what you posted, you will need to have the Callback function be a static member function. But when you make the function static, it can not access any members from an object you created from that class. The only members it has access to are static members.