C++ question(s)

Started by
6 comments, last by gav86 18 years, 9 months ago
Hi, I'm totally new to game programming. .. I know some C++, and about the same of java.. . its hard to describe exactly where i am but i suppose things like pointers/references are the most advanced things ive had to deal with. Anyhow recently i've picked up two books - "Beginning DirectX 9" & "3d Game Engine Programming" (Aimed at C++ if you're not aware) - I've seen a declaration like the following in both of them: sometype **pWhatever; I'm just wondering about the ** bit means - does this simply mean "a pointer to a pointer"? This is the only logical guess I can make at it as i've never encountered the double stars before. Also - I don't know alot about things like "#define", "typedef struct" - actually I guess i don't know anything at all at the moment about them - are there any tutorials on these sort of things? All the beginner c++ tutorials are about general programming (conditional statements/loops, classes & OOP, etc) Thanks in advance!
Advertisement
The '**' is usually used to declare a pointer that will be used as a pointer to an array of pointers.
[size="2"][size=2]Mort, Duke of Sto Helit: NON TIMETIS MESSOR -- Don't Fear The Reaper
Yeah, ** does in fact mean a "pointer-to-a-pointer" in that, if a variable** is dereferenced, it will still be a pointer. Thus, if you want to call a member function from a CClass** you'd have to do (*yourClass)->function(..)

#define (macro name) (stuff) is a pre-compiler command (marco); essentially the compiler will go through and replace any instances of that macro with stuff:
#define OMG 4 // will replace every OMG with 4.

This can come in handy, but is often frowned upon because you can easily mess things up with more complex macros.

A typedef is essentially an alias for something, be it an object or pointer type or whatever. If you do, say
typedef struct CClass_ {     // ...} CClass;