3D animation questions

Started by
8 comments, last by Programmer16 18 years, 8 months ago
I have a couple questions about skeletal animation: 1) Would it be to complex to include skeletal animations on hands (moving the fingers)? I'm not worried about the feet, since the movement of the toes won't really be seen (and wouldn't really matter), just the hands (for clenching the fists, casting spells, etc.) 2) I have a skeletal drawing, but some parts don't really look 'right': For the most part, its the spine. With this system, I can't bend the person at the torso much (like they're stretching before excersizing, doing a backflip, etc). Should I add more joints to the spine? Thanks! PS: I'm just getting started in 3D modeling and animation, so if I have any misconceptions or anything like that, please correct me!
Advertisement
Well, while adding finger bones looks excellent (see Enter the Matrix for a simply awesome example of where no finger bones is a huge detriment, btw) there is a performance loss. I wish I could talk about what that loss is, and how great it is, but adding a handful of fingers (no pun intended! I swear!) is about as costly as the entire person in its current state. It may be less because each finger bone would have only one axis of rotation, though.

And adding more bones in the spine would be a good idea, although I cannot think of many games that have done that...
Quote:Original post by Cypher19
Well, while adding finger bones looks excellent (see Enter the Matrix for a simply awesome example of where no finger bones is a huge detriment, btw) there is a performance loss. I wish I could talk about what that loss is, and how great it is, but adding a handful of fingers (no pun intended! I swear!) is about as costly as the entire person in its current state. It may be less because each finger bone would have only one axis of rotation, though.