Questions regarding current Isometic Engine design

Started by
5 comments, last by cyric74 18 years, 8 months ago
I'm just starting out creating an isometric tile based engine and wanted to get some questions out there before going much further. All the tutorials and guides I've read regarding the coordinate system for diamond tiles have every other row occur 1/2 a tile height down, and 1/2 a tile width offset. But when I tried that, i quickly realised that square buildings would look horrible, and diagonal buildings seemed needlessly complex. Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us So I scrapped the whole thing and adopted a system in which the X axis runs from top-left to bottom-right and the Y axis from top-right to bottom left, with 0,0 being the top centre of the screen. Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us Example Picture I guess I'm wondering if anyone sees a horrible flaw with this system that may come and bite me later. Thanks
Advertisement
I've been working on something very close to what you're doing for the past month:

Screenshot

This is just a test map from my map creation tool that I'm finishing up today, but so far I've not run into any major problems using the diamond shape that you wouldn't run into with an other type of game. In fact, I think it lends itself well to being easily manipulated with very basic math.

The diamond shaped map is also quite a bit more attractive than your original plan, and the extreme 90 degree blocky-ness can be fixed up with wall sections that cut across the center of a tile:

What is the maximum amount of tiles that you plan on drawing per frame? How large will your maps be, and is there a Z-level that allows for height, such as multiple-story buildings? These are the biggest issues I've had as far as processor use--basically just effecient drawing and manipulation of the world.