Oh No ! Another Newb ! (Cell Phone Gaming)

Started by
5 comments, last by Are286 18 years, 7 months ago
Hello, Before I even begin, I will say that I read through your entire forum, including the "Don't Slay The Newbs" which made me laugh real hard. It's amazing how the same issues come up in every forum for every aspect of life. I thank you in advance for sharing information and helping me. Any kind of response is great, even if it's a link to an older thread or a webpage somewhere. Info. Need the info. My name is John, and I have been programming C++ and doing web development for 10 years now. I am well familliar with most technologies. A multimedia company approached me to design and implement a simple cellphone application (game) that when you start it and while you play it, it exchanges information between the user (the input he gives) and the server (returns the next screen of data). Something like a normal website flow, only the client is a user that gets a screen with graphics and data and buttons which represent his selection. I have it all laid out and I have a strong grasp of the application. I have the server application done and written. It accepts XML file as input and sends XML back as result.Right now I am in the point where I have to get my hands dirty. So- I read all about BREW, and it's expensive compiler... Is there a cheeper way to simulate a cell phone interacting with a web application ? Writing the C++ code and the entire client side app is no probs. just making it cell phone compatible is nothing I have an idea about .... Also, is this model of cellphone client sending and receiving information WHILE the application is running (is this UDP ???) existing or the technology hasn't been written yet ? I do not require super-fast upload time like showing the next sprite of the racing course. I'll be exchanging a gif and some text per tranaction so no hurry. If you got this far in reading, I bless you with zero errors on your code. If you can give