Efficient methods to deal with dynamic object culling?

Started by
5 comments, last by eq 18 years, 6 months ago
So I'm a little new to 3D graphics and techniques, but have been assigned the task of writing the 3D engine for a school game. I have all year, and am still in the research phase at this point. Okay, here's my problem. I've learned a little about culling techniques at this point... simple BSP and octtree stuff. But, it seems like this is a lot more helpful with large amounts with static objects. The problem with my game is that every object in the world, moving or static, is constructed of blocks. These blocks begin their lives as parts of larger objects (block trees, block animals), but can all be broken down and moved around. I can't count on any objects in my game to remain static for the entire game. Now, I certainly don't want to refill the an oct tree every frame (right?)... it seems like it would be way to slow. To my advantage, blocks are easy to cull correctly... but just the fact that every object in my world is dynamic seems really daunting. Are there any good dynamic culling methods I should look into? Anyone have any ideas? Thanks :)
Advertisement