One Word Game Names - Trademark Infringement?

Started by
7 comments, last by RandyChase 18 years, 5 months ago
Hey all, I'm under the impression that you cannot trademark a common English word. So could you, in theory, release a game called Doom or Quake? Perhaps going further back, something like Joust or Asteroids? Thanks.
Advertisement
On a Monopoly board it says "... the word Monopoly is a trademark of ..." so I dont think its a good idea.
They have the name Doom copyrighted. The trademark applies to the image (logo) from my understanding.

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." --Benjamin Franklin

As far as I understand trademark law (and I'm no lawyer, so don't take what I write as gospel), you can trademark a common English word in a context outside its original domain. In other words, if you sold apples at the fruit market, you coulnd't trademark "Apple", but you can trademark Apple if you sell records or computers. Note that the Apple trademarks in these cases only apply to their domains (that's how the computer company Apple could get their trademark even though Apple Corps already had a trademark, and why they keep being involved in lawsuits any time they do anything related to music).

So you can't make a game called "Doom" or "Quake", because those words are already trademarked with respect to games. However Lucasarts could make a game based on "Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom", because in that case the "doom" is unlikely to be associated with id's "Doom".

However it's much better to try to use your own name, as it will avoid any potential legal nastiness.
Quote:Original post by Mike2343
They have the name Doom copyrighted. The trademark applies to the image (logo) from my understanding.

I'm almost certain trademarks apply to names and logos, while copyrights are for actual works (such as software, movies, paintings, etc).
http://doom3.com/images/spacer.gif