switch case question

Started by
5 comments, last by EvilDecl81 18 years, 4 months ago
i've been reading though some source code to some older games and i've been coming across switch cases a lot. I was just wondering, is it basically the same as an if-else statement? is there any big reason for using them like speed or organization?
Advertisement
I think they are mostly a syntactic shortcut for a giant if-else-if-else-if-etc-else structure. They can be easier for the coder to read for some kinds of tests.

I would think that they would be exactly as fast as an if-else structure, but I am not an expert.
--Riley
Quote:Original post by rileyriley
I think they are mostly a syntactic shortcut for a giant if-else-if-else-if-etc-else structure. They can be easier for the coder to read for some kinds of tests.

I would think that they would be exactly as fast as an if-else structure, but I am not an expert.

It is possible for them to be faster than if and else, but I really doubt it makes that much of a difference. They also allow things like Duff's device (which most people consider horribly difficult to understand).
awesome, thanks for the quick replies too
int myVar = 2;switch (myVar){  case (1):    Statements1;    break;  case (2):    Statements2;    break;  default:    Statements3;    break;};// Is the same as ...if (myVar == 1){    Statements1;}else if (myVar == 2){    Statements2;}else{    Statements3;}

There are speed-up benefits -- IF USED CORRECTLY. Many programmers don't realize how to properly use switch, and in these instances it will actually perform more slowly than the equivalent if/else if. I won't go into the nitty-gritty assembly details (switch statements use jump tables whereas if statements use a sequence of comparisons), but here are some general guidelines:

(1) If <= 3 conditions to test for, if statements are generally faster or similar in performance.