Which school is better?(fullsail vs Guildhall)

Started by
17 comments, last by brent_chua 18 years, 5 months ago
Im a freshman at Digipen. I took alot of initiative before coming here to learn c++ and 2d game programming in allegro. Basically, almost all of the people that go here dont know anything there first year (I was dissapointed that nobody really wanted to make games like I did). Someone mentioned ID software by another school, well within 2 miles of Digipen is: Bungie,Valve, Monolith, others I dont know yet. Not to mention the top guys get hired into Nintendo by the owner of Digipen, and the whole town is owned by Microsoft. I will say tho, that people are dropping/failing like crazy and I dont understand why. There was a game made by 2 people called "narbicular drop", if u want to check that game out, it got picked up by Valve and they hired the two kids to remake it.

NBA2K, Madden, Maneater, Killing Floor, Sims http://www.pawlowskipinball.com/pinballeternal

Advertisement
Here's some of the formentioned negative buzz concerning Fullsail. Most of the reviews aren't given by people who studied under their game development program, but they still make me a bit wary of the school.
Both schools (all game development schools for that matter) are relatively new, so don't expect too many well-informed opinions. You will need to rely on your own research.
John BoltonLocomotive Games (THQ)Current Project: Destroy All Humans (Wii). IN STORES NOW!
Quote:Original post by dpadam450