Various questions, hope they'll be easy to answer.

Started by
5 comments, last by Krohm 18 years, 4 months ago
I'm new to OpenGL, but am spending all my free time learning about it and how to use it. A couple friends and I want to make our own game, but we want to run it off our own engine. Several of us are proficient in C++, and we're going to use 3ds Max 8 for our modeling. First, is advanced knowlege of OpenGL and C++ enough to make a suitable engine for our game? Second, where should I start? Third, am I completely missing something very important that no one has yet informed me of?
Advertisement
1. Normally yes, but an engine needs big effort
2. Window creation, Renderer init, Texture loading and so on
3. Use shaders, that erally saves work. OOP is not a question its requirement

edit: I forgot to mention:

- search through gamedev.net forum
- google is your friend, believe me
-----"Master! Apprentice! Heartborne, 7th Seeker Warrior! Disciple! In me the Wishmaster..." Wishmaster - Nightwish
Quote:Original post by Hypoon
Third, am I completely missing something very important that no one has yet informed me of?

Yes, games are more than just graphics. [rolleyes]
Yes, games are more than just graphics, but graphics are all I have to worry about. I'm director of graphics, the others are directors of sound and story. The team consists of about 12 to 15 people.

Also, I use google a lot, but I don't like all the junk-results, as I call them.

[Edited by - Hypoon on December 17, 2005 2:35:41 PM]
First, is advanced knowlege of OpenGL and C++ enough to make a suitable engine for our game?

Your maths needs to be solid. You'll at the very least have a reasonable ability in algebra, and know the basics of vectors and matrix arithmetic - or at least the principles.

Quote:
Second, where should I start?

Do a small amount at once. Don't try for anything too fancy.