Opinions on this inventory Code.

Started by
7 comments, last by Endurion 18 years, 4 months ago
Hi there... I am very new to programming and have been playing around with a text adventure game as a way to improve my coding skills and learn c++. I have made a sinple "demo" of the way the inventory will handel picking up new objects (once I get it all working it will go in the charicter class with the other things) Basicaly I am using 2 vectors. 1 for sting names of items and the other for short number of items. I used vectors as they have the easy push.back and erase() functions that dynamicly resize the array/vector thing-o. Anyway, I need the program to check to see if the item exists in the inventory before it dose anything. Then if it finds the item in the inventory it just add number of the item picked up to how many of that item is in the inventory. Then after that test/function all happens if the item picked up is not in the inventory it needs to add with a push_back the item name and the number of that item picked up. in this test you pick up a 1 shield that you do not already have. The code below dose this but it feels like it is a bad way to go about it.. I use a break in a while string for example. I have tred to put a lot of comments for easy reading of what is going on for this post.
#include <iostream>
#include <string>
#include <vector>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
	vector <short> numberItems; // Declar vector for Number of Items
	vector <string> inventory; // Declar vector for Item Names
	string item = "shield"; // Test runs as if the user has picked up a shield
	short numbItems = 1; // Test runs as if the user has picked up 1 shield only.

// START - Example of existing inventory the user may have
	inventory.push_back("napsack");
	numberItems.push_back(1);
	inventory.push_back("cape");
	inventory.push_back("sword");
	inventory.push_back("healing potion");
	numberItems.push_back(5);
	inventory.push_back("salve");
	numberItems.push_back(10);