Is this too much for VB? (help required)

Started by
8 comments, last by GameDev.net 18 years, 3 months ago
Okay, so I'm making a video game for my computer engineering class. We have to use VB (only language we've learnt so far). Originally I was making a pokemon battler. But I scrapped that. It wasn't very fun at all :P My new game puts you in the role of Death. there is no way to beat the game, it's just for fun. You can pick up different weapons and use them to kill the human. When the human dies you just prss a button and a new one spawns. Here's where I run into problems. I'm fairly new to VB and I don't really know what it is capable of (I've seen a 3D robot shooter made in VB....). Is it possible to create an image when the user presses a button and not just enable it so it appears, but actually create it? And also, collision. How do I do collision in VB where if you image runs into another one dissapears and one changes? I am also adding two mini-games in hopes for bonus marks (though I already have a decent enough mark, I want to raise it) The first mini-game is called Death Spits (the whole game is called Death Bites) and the story is there are zombies and you spit acid, yadayadayada. Now, I was originally going to do an arcade style shooter for this where zombies just pop-up out of nowhere and you shoot them. I can do that. But I was thinking of making it a small side scroller instead. With jumping and stuff like that. I run into a few more problems here... I can only make forms so big. Would I just make the image bigger than the form and have it scroll the image? Because if that's what i have to do, I don't know how hehe. And lastly, I want to make Death Dances. I got the idea whilst playing Dance Dance Revolution Ultramix 3 (love that game). I want to make it so arrows appear at the bottom of the screen and scroll to the top, and when they overlap the arrows on the top you press the button and get points. Again, I'm not advanced enough for this. I will