Linux Frustration

Started by
17 comments, last by Sander 18 years, 2 months ago
$ apt-cache search personality
honeyd - Small daemon that creates virtual hosts simulating their services and behaviour
honeyd-common - Honeyd's honeypot documentation and scripts
libnet-ftpserver-perl - A secure, extensible and configurable Perl FTP server
linux32 - Wrapper to set the execution domain

Ok, that's just weird.
-------------------------GBGames' Blog: An Indie Game Developer's Somewhat Interesting ThoughtsStaff Reviewer for Game Tunnel
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by Bregma
Funny, I use Linux every day. I work as a developer for a major Linux distro. The only time I ever have to configure/make/make install is when I'm working on code I'm writing. And I use a lot of software.

I come from decades of Unix development where configure/make/make install and hand-editing config files was the norm (as it was in Windows up to Win95). It is no longer the case. Any worthy distro, and most of them are, are in fact easier to install, configure, and use than is Windows.

The only excuse people have these days for installing from code on Linux is you're trying to impress chicks. Trust me, it doesn't work. Try apt-get install personality instead.

Which specific distros are you talking about? In XP if I want to install a program I just download the installer and double-click, if I can do that in Linux that would be wonderful.
"Think you Disco Duck, think!" Professor Farnsworth
Original post by Horatius83
Which specific distros are you talking about? In XP if I want to install a program I just download the installer and double-click, if I can do that in Linux that would be wonderful.