How's my packet architecture

Started by
2 comments, last by KevinLee 18 years ago
I am curious if the architecture I put together for my packet sending/receiving is a good one for a large scale online game. I am not very experienced at network programming so any input is greatly appreciated. This is what I do: For each packet I send I do this: 1) I create a byte array that contains: a) An integer that states the type of packet (more on this later) b) An integer that contains the length of the packet c) I then take a class packet object and serialize it into the byte array 2) I then send the byte array through a NetworkStream object using C#. The “type of packet” indicates which class object is used for the packet. I create a separate class for each packet type. For example: public class PacketMove() –> Packet sent when a player moves public class PacketSay() –> Packet sent when a player says something public class PacketExit –> Packet sent when a player exits the game. Etc... 3) The server then uses NetworkStream to receive this packet. The problem is that the server gets the packet type and then must do a huge switch or if statement to know which type of object to create. For example: // Read the bytes and deserialize them into a object that is one of the packet classes object packet = ReadPacket(stream, ref packetType); If(packetType == PacketType.Move) { PacketLogin packetMove = (PacketLogin) packet; } else if(packetType == PacketType.Say) { PacketSay packetSay = (PacketSay) packet; … } Etc… Is this how it’s normally done? Thank in advanced.
Advertisement
Correct, in terms of network IO and programming C/C++ derivative at the most simplistic approach.

Kuphryn
Yes, you can do something like that. Note that I would call it a packet "structure" or "approach" rather than "architecture."