Pointers, delete[ ]

Started by
4 comments, last by _EpcH_ 18 years ago
Hi all, I am new to this forum, so I am not sure if I am posting my question to the right place, but anyway ... Here is my code that gives me the error : "Debug Assertion Failed! Expression BLOCK_TYPE_IS_VALID(pHead->nBlockUse)" #include "stdafx.h" int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[]) { int *intPtr = new int[10]; for (int x=0;x<10;x++) { *intPtr = x; intPtr++; } delete [] intPtr; // This line causes the error. return 0; } Is it happening because I increment the Pointer variable ? If this is the cause, how can I free the memory used by a pointer in such a case like this? Thank you for reading my complete newbie and boring question :) And one more question, when I declare an array of 10 integers with the new keyword, is it placed is stack or the heap ? And what determines the size of available stack and heap memory for an application ? I guess memory leaks cause consuming of all available space in heap memory only ? And one more question which memory is faster, and why ? Thanks again.. _EpcH_
Have we sent the "Don't shoot, we're pathetic" transmission yet?
Advertisement
In a situation like this, you use array notation. This way the pointer is not altered.

ie:

intPtr[x] = x; // set the xth element to a value of x

Memory allocated through new is on the heap, and the maximum amount that you can allocate is limited by the amount of RAM available.

The stack size is allocated at compile time, and should be configurable through your IDE/compiler's options.

Both are equally as fast in terms of access, but it does take time to allocate memory on the heap, so if you do it frequently, that will end up becoming a speed concern. To get around this, allocate what you need once and only once.