I am a beginner programmer who needs help

Started by
16 comments, last by gan 17 years, 11 months ago
Quote:Original post by dbzprogrammer
Hey bud, if you want something small to download, go with Dev C++. http://www.bloodshed.net/

I'll second this, if the Visual C++ and Platform SDK download size are a problem for you Dev-C++ is a good choice; it lacks some of the features of Visual Studio, but it's a lot smaller and beginners often find it easier to set up. Code::Blocks (mentioned above) would also be a fine choice, although I havn't tried it personally.

What you're getting here is an IDE or Integrated Development Environment (definition), which is basically a fancy text editor, a compiler (definition), and a few other tools all built in. You won't need any other software to get started once you've got an IDE.

You'll probably also want to pick up some books and/or tutorials. Beginning C++ Game Programming would be a good choice for a book, and the online tutorials at www.cprogramming.com/ are pretty good.

Hope that helps.

- Jason Astle-Adams

Advertisement
Quote:Visual C++ 8.0 Express is freely available from Microsoft.

i think the link is broken. It's here.

For beginner, maybe u can try CodingForFun

I have gotten an SDK on a disc and

I am downloading VC++ right now

(4:30)pm on Monday
##########################################################You'll have time to rest when you're dead - Robert De Niro
Who knows where to find the source codes to games like tetris, pacman and breakout?
##########################################################You'll have time to rest when you're dead - Robert De Niro
http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=source+codes+to+games+like+tetris,+pacman+and+breakout&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
I think you can also order the Visual C++ and the Windows 2003 Platform SDK on CD. You might have to shell out 5 bucks or so, but that will bring you the best avaliable tools for software development on the Windows platform.