New guy here asking some questions

Started by
2 comments, last by Avengerakos 17 years, 11 months ago
Hello all , I am new to this website.Or more like ..... I used to come here when I was 15 , but I don't remember my acc/password details so I had to make a new email adress to use :p Anyway back to the point.I am studying programming and computer engineering at university.I am still at a starting level but the whole idea of game programming has always fascinated me.I do not know C++.I know java.I am making a 2D platform/RPG game mix in Java but because people seem to be absolutely hostile against java and game programming I am starting to get anxious. Of course I will finish that game in Java and since it is 2D the supposedly slow java VM won't bother me a lot(I hope) but when I am not programming for that project I want to start learning C++ and game programming in C++.I was given 2 books by a friend. 1)C++ How to program 4th edition by Deitel 2)The Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus by Andre Lamothe So I'd like to ask you guys here since you seem eager to help any new guy with questions is this sufficient?Should I look somewhere else too?
Advertisement
Hi there,
I too am familiar with Java but not with C++ and so am learning C++. Therefore, I don't know whether those books are sufficient, but I can guide you here:
http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=392994
It's like on an online tutorial which guides you through the basics of C++ every week. If you have any problems, you can then ask one of the tutors. It's a great idea and is something I'm taking part in. Only thing is, you're going to need to get "Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days".
good luck!
Quote:Original post by Avengerakos
I know java.I am making a 2D platform/RPG game mix