Glowing surface?

Started by
6 comments, last by Morpheus011 17 years, 10 months ago
So I'm pretty new to lighting effects. Modeling I understand, pixels and voxels and triangles and camera angles and matrices I've totally got down, but any lighting more advanced than specifying a type, position, and color of light is still pretty new to me. With that in mind, here's what I want to do: I want to create a white cube against a black background, one face of which should appear to be glowing bright blue. I've tried making the surface bright blue, and the surface does look bright blue, but it doesn't "glow." Not being the most artistic person in the world, I'm not sure exactly what it should look like or even what the name of the effect is. I don't know if I want the light to bleed out from the cube; I'm looking for a way to show that it's glowing. Maybe think about how you might render a big fluorescent light panel. Ideas?
Advertisement
buzzwords: HDR, bloom. probably more than you actually want though.
It's never too much info :)

But I'm wondering if it's possible for something to appear to glow without actually bleeding out of their shape. Like, I'm wondering if I make the corners a bit darker somehow if it might help.

An example of the short of look I'm going to is during the intro to Kingdom Hearts 2, while Sora's running up some lit stairs:

Along side bloom (you don't need HDR for that, infact, HDR won't give you that), you might just want to look into radiosity lightmapping. It won't give a 'realtime' glow look, meaning they won't pulsate, nor can you turn them off in game. But it doesn't result in any costs to run it, and you can do it on lots of static objects.

Anyway, chances are, you really want bloom, it will/should look much better.
Ollie"It is better to ask some of the questions than to know all the answers." ~ James Thurber[ mdxinfo | An iridescent tentacle | Game design patterns ]
Quote:Original post by acid2