Map layers and sprites

Started by
1 comment, last by mr_mo 17 years, 10 months ago
Hey; I'm new here and I'm well aware that there are a lot of topic about this, but none of them were usefull to me, not the ones i found anyways, because they were more about games instead of game engines. Before telling my problem; I'm an experience programmer in Ruby but not so much in C++ or VB. I know more VB then C++ and I can write simple stuff in VB and C++ no prob. All programing languages are similar. I recently had ideas for a 2D Game Engine and so i said "why not make one!". Its been only the planning stage right now and I'm getting ready to start. I used to use a differnt game engine called Rpg maker XP but meh.. it was too limeted. So I have an idea of what I want to do and how to handle the data. For the engine it self, I'm going to use VB. For the game(run time) itself, it will use Ruby scripting language, its esier to use. I'm using Visual BAsic 2005 Express Editon. Now for the problem; The real problem is making the Tile/Map editor. I want it to have different layers; - Tile Layer = The user can put tiles on the map. 5 layers max. - Object Layer = This is for the event processing. 1 layer. - Draw Layer = The user can draw if needed. 1 for each Tile layer. - Override Passibility Layer = The user can over ride the tile's passibilty on the map. 1 for each tile layer. - Montster Area Layer = The user can color define tiles and attach colors to monsters. By defining this the user can choose which monsters appear on which tile by just clicking on it. 1 layer. Thats actually the easy part to me. Thats all Data Handling and reading. What I really need help with is this; - Letting the user upload its own tileset. - Dividing the tileset in to pieces. - Letting the user pick tiles and place them on a map/grid. Heres a picture of what I'm trying to imitate(its Rpg maker Xp, I'm just trying to imitate the tileset editor, not the layers); http://www.enterbrain.co.jp/tkool/RPG_XP/e