texture makes triangle darker instead of textured

Started by
12 comments, last by Tonni 17 years, 10 months ago
hi, i'm new to DirectX. first of all, don't be scared when you read my code :) i know there are free engines out there that are much better than mine will ever get, but nevertheless i develop my own. this is because i love to learn the very basics and build up my own solution upon it, so i understand every single line. i don't like to use engines/libraries or whatever that others have written and therefore i don't know what exactly is going on. this is my first c++ project and i'm sure there are much noobie-errors in my code. please forgive me ;) so, here is what drives me crazy: i tried to render a rotating triangle. that works fine. the next step was to extend my vertex format, load a texture and use it to render my triangle. well, loading works, assigning works, rendering works - but the triangle is not textured. instead, the triangle just gets darker, but not black. the first 150 frames are rendered without the texture, the next 150 with it, so you can compare the effect. the following link is a "short summary" of what i think may contain the error. http://pastebin.com/725403 this is the whole project, in case the "summary" above is not enough code. unfortunately i haven't built a config tool yet, so you have to work your way through the DirectX settings yourselves. sorry for that :/ http://www.myupload.biz/f/2fs/30811/texture_error.zip and last, the binary for windows, if some of you don't want to compile it himself. just place a texture called "Texture.bmp" in the same directory as the binary. http://www.myupload.biz/f/1tx/30812/deleteme.exe i am sure there will be much more to ask for me, so, is there any IRC channel you could recommend to me? sometimes it is more useful to ask something small in a chat and get the answer a minute later than to create a new thread here :) thanks, Tonni
Advertisement